2.1 Eligibility

On this page

2.1      Eligibility

The nominated occupations, nominated countries, and Special Administrative Regions (SARs) for the OSAP are listed on the OSAP Program page on the TRA website

It is compulsory for applicants seeking a skills assessment in a nominated occupation, and nominated country or SAR, to have an assessment through the OSAP (excluding 485 or TSS visa applicants).

OSAP is also compulsory for applicants applying for permanent migration in the following licensed trades:

  • Air-conditioning and Refrigeration Mechanic
  • Electrician (General)
  • Electrician (Special Class)
  • Plumber (General)

The program is also open to applicants from all countries who wish to undertake a skills assessment in a nominated occupation who can travel to Australia or a nominated country for an assessment. 

Should you choose to travel to a nominated country for assessment, it is your responsibility to ensure the correct visa for that country is obtained prior to your travel to that country. 

If you wish to apply for a skilled migration visa (excluding 485 or TSS visas) but your nominated occupation is not listed on the OSAP page on the TRA website, you need to apply for assessment under the TRA Migration Skills Assessment (MSA) Program.